top of page

Proof Positive pt. 2 - No Opportunity for Questions?

In the 2003 Honolulu conversation cited in the first installment of Proof Positive, Jayadvaita Swami stated:

"there was no opportunity to like send Prabhupada back and forth, like sending him the second chapter and getting it back and asking questions; it just didn’t happen."

In the 15 months prior to Prabhupada approving the '72 Bhagavad-gita blue-print/ galleyproof, Jayadvaita wrote to His Divine Grace on six different occasions regarding book production. Srila Prabhupada replied each time, often with detailed explanations and instructions. Though the statements found in some of these letters (see below) refer to books other than Bhagavad-gita, they are still a definitive indication that Srila Prabhupada had made himself available for final proofreading, questions on editing, and other details of book production, and that he already was communicating and interacting with Jayadvaita on such matters. And, as indicated below, Srila Prabhupada also went to New York and spent approximately 14 days there in July and August of 1971. The record shows that Jayadvaita had plenty of opportunity to send Prabhupada the Bhagavad-gita blue-prints, manuscripts and queries, as well as to meet personally with His Divine Grace. Srila Prabhupada also made a standing offer directly to Jayadavaita in a meeting in Boston in 1969 regarding publishing of the unabridged Gita:

Jayadvaita [referring to the "original" manuscript] Some of it has been edited by Rayarama, but you can see around it and go to the original behind it.

Prabhupada So whatever is lacking, you ask me. I will supply you.

Why, then, did Jayadavaita Swami state there was no opportunity and why didn't he ask his questions when he had the chance?

(emphasis is added in the following letters and some have been abbreviated)

Letter to Jayadvaita- Bombay, March 17, 1971

My Dear Jayadvaita, Please accept my blessings. I am in due receipt of your letter dated 21st February, 1971 and noted the contents carefully. I do not know what may have happened to the letter dated 9th January, 1971, but I have not received it.

Regarding your questions:

12:12: The ultimate point is to come to the stage of loving Krsna and all other indirect processes are subsidiary....

14:27: Impersonal Brahman is the constitutional position of ultimate happiness because without coming to the brahma-bhutah platform and remaining engaged in the activities of brahman nobody can be joyful....

I have dictated the missing purports from Chapter IX and they are set enclosed herewith. So far changing the working of verse or purport of 12:12 discussed before, it may remain as it is.

Letter to Jayadvaita- Los Angeles, July 3, 1971

My Dear Jayadvaita, Please accept my blessings. I am in due receipt of your letter dated 30th June, 1971 and have noted the contents carefully. Your report on the progress of Srimad-Bhagavatam, first four cantos, is very much encouraging, so continue this work very seriously. I have again begun translating work and have so far sent Satsvarupa Prabhu three tapes from 4th Canto, 8th chapter, and will be sending many more.

Letter to Jayadvaita- Los Angeles, July 13, 1971

I am in due receipt of your letter dated 10th July, 1971 and have noted the contents. Also I have received the laid-out sheets for tapes no. 1 & 2 and they are very well done. Thank you very much. I was so much pleased to see that already the tapes were edited and laid out and this is encouraging me to translate more and more. You can give Ch. 8 of S.B. canto 4 the title "Dhruva Maharaja enters the forest to meet the Lord''.

...Very soon I am coming to N.Y. and we can discuss further on these matters.

Letter to Jayadvaita- Calcutta, February 18, 1972

My Dear Jayadvaita, Please accept my blessings. I beg to acknowledge receipt of your letter of February 5, 1972, and have noted the contents. Yes, because no one else can do them, I shall do the sanskrit synonyms. You simply send me now the manuscripts as required by you, and I shall send back either dictaphone tapes or tape-recorder cassettes.

Letter to Jayadvaita- Calcutta, March 5, 1972

My dear Jayadvaita, Please accept my blessings. I have also received your letter along with Bali Mardan's....As I have informed, Pradyumna and Syamasundara will be sending you regularly completed transcriptions of my translation work by post, that will avoid the high cost of sending tapes, which besides are very expensive and may be lost easily in mail, and because I am here if they have questions I can answer and make the final proofreading, and this will expedite everything. One thing, now you say the date for printing by MacMillan Co. is set for August 1st, but last time you said June 1st, so I am wondering how long this delaying business shall go on?

Letter to Jayadvaita- Los Angeles, May 28, 1972

My Dear Jayadvaita, Please accept my blessings. I have received your letter dated May 26th, 1972, along with the blue-print copies of Bhagavad-gita As It Is from MacMillan Company. It is very nice. So I shall be looking forward to seeing the entire manuscript and book sometime around first July, 1972.

In summary,

Srila Prabhupada stated:

"So whatever is lacking, you ask me. I will supply you."

(1969 meeting in Boston)

"Very soon I am coming to N.Y. and we can discuss further on these matters."

(he then spends 2 weeks in New York)

"if they have questions I can answer and make the final proofreading"

"I have received your letter dated May 26th, 1972, along with the blue-print copies of Bhagavad-gita As It Is from MacMillan Company. It is very nice. So I shall be looking forward to seeing the entire manuscript and book sometime around first July, 1972."

In total, Jaydvaita corresponded with His Divine Grace on six different ocassions between February 1971 and May 1972.

Jayadvaita Swami stated:

"There Was No Opportunity To Like Send Prabhupada Back And Forth, Like Sending Him The Second Chapter And Getting It Back And Asking Questions."


bottom of page